Messages could still send your contacts read receipts even if you disabled them

Messages could still send your contacts read receipts even if you disabled them

January 6, 2022 0 By [email protected] (Mike Peterson)

AppleInsider is supported by its audience and may earn commission as an Amazon Associate and affiliate partner on qualifying purchases. These affiliate partnerships do not influence our editorial content.

An apparent bug in Apple’s Messages app in iOS 15 could be sending read receipts to your contacts, even if you’ve disabled them universally or for specific people.

Read receipts are a feature that lets the recipient of an iMessage know that you’ve read or seen their message. Many users choose to turn them off to avoid leaving their contacts “left on read.” But a new report suggests that there could be a problem with the option to disable them in iOS 15.

According to MacWorld, users have reported their devices sending read receipts even if the feature is disabled. While the bug has “cropped up seemingly briefly” in past software updates, the publication notes that it has seen “a spate of reports with iOS 15.”

AppleInsider was unable to produce the bug, so it does not seem particularly widespread. It appears that a simple reboot of an iPhone or iPad could fix the issue temporarily. It’s likely that Apple will provide a patch in a future version of iOS 15.

Users can universally enable or disable read receipts in the Settings app by heading to Messages > Send Read Receipts. They can also enable or disable read receipts individually by clicking on an individual contact in the Contacts app, hitting Info, and adjusting the toggle next to Send Read Receipts.

You can read the original article here —> [ Read More ]

[ If you love Tech news, you will love our gathered and curated news presented on the main page ]

close

Don't miss a beat!!

We’d love to keep you updated with the latest tech news from across the internet!

Don't worry, we don’t spam!